The Crystal Method, Clipse & Smirnoff (March 4, 2010)

The Crystal Method have been friends of mine for many, many years. I don’t think I’ve missed many of their shows, when they play close to home. If I’m traveling or near a venue they are playing, I’m there. I’ve seen them perform live sets at least a dozen times. We went to secondary school together and lived in the same town for a long time. It’s the same town in which their first LP is titled. I can tell you all the early synthesizers they used too! However, you’re just going to have to wait till the book comes out in 2011. What were those again!?! I have seen these artist become well respected musicians and revered over the years. I can’t recall too many action movie trailers that didn’t feature a Crystal Method song. They go great with Victoria Secret! I still remember the first interview I read on TCM in the local lifestyle magazine, SCOPE. Still have that in the archives. This was mid to late 1990’s, when they were just starting to take off. I also remember going to see The Replacement Killers and that opening scene with Keep Hope Alive just overwhelmed me. I was also very proud of my good friends too.

This particular show was memorable. It was the first time in a long time we’ve had time to talk backstage before they performed. We don’t normally talk too much about music, anyway. However, this night, we got caught up on family life, and Ken’s recent engagement which was captured on film at one of their shows.

These guys are true gentlemen. Watching them interact with their fans is always so heartwarming. This post is for Ken & Scott. They are 2 of the most gracious and talented people I know. I missed you guys in your in your recent Seattle show & you’ve been on my mind ever since. So, here are a couple of shots from this great show.

These shots were taken back in March of this year. The Rocky Mountaineer is a great venue and the Smirnoff mixed drinks were really good! I don’t remember a single name of one, but, yeah, really good! This was a great DJ set. If you get a chance to see them do their live PA, do. They always put on a great show.

The opening bands were really good too.

Leave a Reply

