Nina Simone, Durutti Column, I Get Along Without You Very Well (Except Sometimes)

I’ve been listening to my old Durutti Column LP’s all week. This particular song came up in a conversation. I think Vini Reily’s version is extraordinary. How is this man not more revered and widely recognized? Lindsay Wilson/Lindsay Reade is singing on the Durutti version. This was originally released in 1983 by Factory Records. What a great rendition to this popular standard.

In Nina Simone’s version she is singing like its the last few words of her life. Like your pain couldn’t quite ever match hers. Her voice has always tugged at my heart strings. I had a glass of wine and put this on. And for a few minutes I got lost somewhere else,…not here. This is simply sublime.

Nina Simone version:

Durutti Column version:

The original song was written around 1938 by Hoagy Carmichael. What a beautiful song, Mr. Carmichael.

Leave a Reply

