Sound Designer Diego Stocco Performs with the Custom “Bassoforte”

Another great video and custom instrument by sound designer and composer, Diego Stocco. We like Spaghetti Westerns too…

From Youtube.com

Few days ago I started thinking about how I could re-purpose the keyboard of the dismantled piano I keep in the garden, so I thought to build a new instrument by combining it with some other parts I had laying around.
I ended up with this mechanical hybrid thing I thought to call “Bassoforte” (bass + pianoforte).

The neck is from a broken electric bass, as a bridge I used a cabinet handle, the pickups are from a guitar, and the part at the top where the strings are attached is a chimney cap, which works as resonator as well as percussive sound.

The track I created is a tribute to my Dad who is a big fan of Western comic books and “spaghetti western” films, and because of him I am too.

I hope you’ll like it!

The track is available also at my Bandcamp page: http://diegostocco.bandcamp.com/track/bassoforte

Here you can see a gallery with pictures and more detailed descriptions: http://www.behance.net/gallery/Bassoforte/535175

Leave a Reply

