Teenage Engineering OP-1 Synthesizer, A Birthday, Cannon Beach (Oregon 2011)

For my birthday this year I received a very lovely Teenage Engineering OP-1 synthesizer. Yes, me love my family! I decided to take it to Cannon Beach for our family vacation which coincides with my birthday.

I am absolutely enamored with the OP-1. At first I had a bit of buyers remorse. I had read the manual. It wasn’t some impulse buy or a bargain purchase. It’s features were extensive and the concept of having a workstation of its size seemed appealing. I paid over $160 in duty and taxes. I think that might have had something to do with my remorse…maybe. The size was well…it’s small. Maybe that had something to with it too. What I quickly learned is that size isn’t everything. What this little machine offers in features is quite compelling and every single regret I had upon receiving the bill has gone away. I have made several little mini tracks with it and am looking forward to doing more with it. Stay tuned for some more updates soon.

This picture was taken on July 4th at Cannon Beach, Oregon. Every summer we make our way to this beach resort town and do much of nothing. We’ve been doing it for years. It’s become quite a family vacation destination and on this occasion it was the OP-1, some nice fireworks, a local brew and me on the porch! Pure serendipitous genius.

Teenage Engineering OP-1 Synthesizer
Teenage Engineering OP-1

Some of the features of this diminutive little workstation:

All in one portable
OP-1 is the all-in-one portable Synthesizer, Sampler and Controller. With additional features like the FM Radio and an assignable G-Force sensor for motion controlled effects. With OP-1’s built-in Tape feature you are able to record everything you do on to the 4 tracks, with overdubbing, reverse recording

Synthesizer and controller
8 built-in synthesizer engines, multiple effects and LFO’s. And some really unique sequencers ready to explore.
Connect it to your computer and control your DAW with the common play, stop, rec, forward and rewind. Use the 4 rotary encoders and 8 x 2 dedicated quick keys for fast selections.

Built in 4-track tape
Record everything on the built in 4-track tape. Match the tape speed to the sequencer clock for some really nice overdubbing with changing pitch. Change tape speed while recording, or even record backwards in real-time. Switch to the 4 channel mixer and add som texture with the built in EQ and Drive.

To learn more about Teenage Engineering and the OP-1 synthesizer click here.

One thought on “Teenage Engineering OP-1 Synthesizer, A Birthday, Cannon Beach (Oregon 2011)

Leave a Reply

